I cannot read his final entry, posted on the site we did for him a few years ago, as I am already crying don't think there are any more tears to be had.
Andrew was one of our very first clients, and always the soul of kindness and courtesy. Our deepest sympathies go out to his family.
Walk in the Summerland, brother, and be at peace.
A nice, if simplistic, interview here with Ben & Mena Trott, founders/developers of Movable Type. Also mentioned in the article is long-time Sekimori Design client Power Line, though with MSM's typical cluelessness, they neglect to actually *link* to their weblog. Thanks anyway, fellas!
Spammers, beware - organised criminals are positioning themselves to take a slice of your business.Virus writing - once the sole province of hooligans - has edged itself into the arena of organised crime with viruses like Sobig-F that are capable of setting up a spam-sending proxy network.
For some reason I find the thought of Vinnie the Shark tap dancing on a recalcitrant spammer's knuckles endlessly amusing.

Congratulations to Off-Wing Opinion, chosen #2 in the Best Sports Weblogs category by Forbes.com.
He shoots, he scores!
Have the mad coding skillz? Eschew the pretentious Mountain Dew Code Red for the more real Jolt Cola? Then you and the Google Code Jam 2003 are MFEA.
Verisign, those masters of devious domain practices, have set up wildcards in the .com and .net zones. What this means in English, explained by Annette from Hosting Matters, Inc.:
Say you have a domain that's hard to type, or someone simply misspells your domain name. In general, good behavior by nameservers will result in an error message of some sort, indicating that the domain could not be found. As of today, Verisign now intercepts those requests and redirects them to it's own search page, which no doubt will be used as a way to sell domains or a place for companies to advertise, or both.Example:
http://www.hmdsn.net (note this misspelling of one of our domains)Further, typos in setting, say, a mail server in an email client, or even a typo in code that references a bad subdomain, could very well lead to the Verisign sitefinder page.
Example:
http://blabhlbah.anythinghereisfake.com (note that this domain is unregistered)(Note: if your ISP is nullrouting Verisign due to Verisign's trickery, you will get a not found; others will see the result of this.)
Once again, show Verisign your displeasure by transferring your domain registrations to any one of the hundreds of other registrars who do not stoop to such subterfuge.
**Update** - Verisign sued by Netster.com for "unfair competition and violations of the Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act." Go get 'em, boys.
HUGE, enormous congratulations go out to the enormously talented Robyn, who has just completed the first third of her new project...her pregnancy!
Robyn is the other half of Sekimori Design, and designer of such beauties as Sand in the Gears, Sofia Sideshow and Hot Liberty. Please join me in sending her the very best wishes and luck for a happy, healthy baby. You go girl!
PowerGen is a large company in England that sells electricity. They formed a division in Italy and went for the obvious company name and domain name: www.powergenitalia.com
Bet they get email the likes of which they've never dreamed...
The French government, concerned that the world at large does not already view them as laughable morons, has decide to ban the use of the word "email" from all government ministries, documents, publications and websites, replacing it instead with "courriel", a fusion of "courrier electronique" (electronic mail).
Such cultural insularity is a fine way to get overrun by neighboring city-states. Oh wait...
Idiots. Brazilian and Argentinian ISPs are notorious for their tolerance of spammers, small wonder the hacker community there is thriving as well.
No, the two are not necessarily connected, they both just overload my Anger Module.
After receiving not one, but two, emails today from "PayPal" requesting my credit card # and bank account pin #, I did some digging and turned up this article.
As prominently noted on PayPal's actual site, "we will never ask you for personal information of any kind." I'm paraphrasing a bit but you get the drift.
According to press reports, this coming Sunday is an online play date for scores of socially maladjusted dilettantes as they fire up their overpriced, overpowered overthrusters and hammer away at our servers for no good reason.
Now would be a very good time to make a personal run through your sites and make very sure there are no installation files hanging about from Movable Type, Gallery or any (particularly php-based) bulletin boards. Nuke the files, rename them or change the perms to 000, but close the door any way you can. Let's teach these punks that bathing regularly, delousing, and getting out of Mom's basement into the sunshine is more of a blow to The ManTM than any pathetic defacement they might otherwise accomplish.
UPDATE - *snicker*

